Korea Facts

Korea on the Map

South Korea, officially the Republic of Korea, occupies the southern portion of the Korean Peninsula. Surrounded by the Yellow Sea, the Sea of Japan and the East China sea, giving the country its unique geographical feature.
With Seoul as its capital city, is the 9th most populous capital city with a population of 9,962,393.

  • Population Approximately 51,164,435
    (as of 2018)
  • Temperatures Average annual 10-16°C
    Four seasons.
  • Time Zone UTC+9
    (Korea Standard Time)
  • Standard Voltage 220V, 60Hz

National Symbols

National Flag : Taegeukgi
Korea Flag
Taegeukgi implies the oriental principles of Yin and Yang with a symbolic circle in the center which has 2 different colors. The red part stands for the positive and bright energy of the Yang, the blue part stands for the negative and lunar energy of the
Yin. The white background represents purity, brightness and peace. The four trigrams specifically represent continuous balance, harmony and development.
National Flower : Mugunghwa
Korea Flower
Mugunghwa has a meaning of ‘Eternal blooming and never falling ever” and it blooms from the middle of summer time until early autumn every year. You can see this flower everywhere in the entire country and it has 200 different kinds of species in the world. Historically, it has been loved since Korean Independence Day in 1945 as a national flower. Mugung, in Korean means “Eternity, Immortality and Sincerity”.

Korean Traditional Culture